(Here is a post that I wrote on July 30th, 2009…Originally I posted it at “Gold of the Mother Lode” SN site.)

 

From Getty Images

From Getty Images

 

 

Today I sewed a Poodle Skirt, something I never thought I’d do.

I never had a Poodle Skirt. I was just a bit too young for that fad. Truth is…Poodle Skirts were a short-lived fad, but somehow they sunk into our American psyche and popped out as an Icon of 1950’s Teen Fashion.

I wanted a Poodle Skirt…briefly. At age 9 I was into crinoline! The more petticoats, the bigger the whirl and twirl. At recess all the little 3rd grade girls would cram into the bathroom to count layers. One day I wore more petticoats than Kathy Fabian, the Petticoat Queen of 3rd grade! Fortunately Kathy was not miffed, so I didn’t suffer for out-slipping her. (Fact is, K.F. was nice, really. She knew how to be kind, and she loved books! Were it not for Kathy F, I might not have turned into the bookish gal that I am today. She got ALL the little girls into the library.)

On that fateful day, my over-powering layer was my Inflatable Petticoat. It was based on the idea of a bicycle inner tube. The clear plastic tube was sewn into a casing near the hemline.InflatablePetticoat

 

You just blew that puppy up and POOF! I’ve always thought that mechanics, welders and carpenters should pay more attention to the Art of Sewing. It’s just a soft version of hard construction: Basic geometry, good tensile strength, the right tools, a powerful engine and a little skill. So, at 6AM I was up sewing a Poodle Skirt for my granddaughter. Well, really it’s for the costume department of her upcoming play: Seussical, Junior. They’ll be prancing on Summerville High’s stage this week: Thursday, Friday & Saturday 8PM. There’s a great bit of Family Entertainment, brought to you by Meyer Hideout Children’s Theatre and their unsinkable director Kyla Meyer.

I’ll be in the audience, looking for my Poodle Skirt.